Branches of government

The Constitution provides for a system of separation of powers, checks and balances so that the government would not have all its powers intensely focused in the hands of only a few officials or one branch of government to rule. The Separation of Powers was arranged by systematic planning and united efforts by the framers of the Constitution to provide a system of shared powers which we call Checks and Balances. There are three branches of government in the Constitution: the first branch is the Legislative branch; the second is the Executive Branch and the third is the Judicial Branch.
The Legislative branch is made up of the House of Representative and the senate which together form the United States Congress. The powers to be in this branch are set up in Article I of the Constitution. They are to pass, change, repeal laws; raise or lower taxes; pay debts; borrow money; provide for the common defense, regulate commerce and immigration; and to declared war.
The Executive branch is composed of the President, Vice President, cabinet members and departments and agencies. The president carries out federal laws and recommends new ones, directs national defense and foreign policy, and performs ceremonial duties. Including the powers to direct government, command the Armed Forces, deal with international powers, act as chief law enforcement officer, and vetoing laws.
The Judicial branch is comprised of Supreme Court justices and federal judges. There powers are to interpreting the Constitution, reviewing laws, and deciding cases involving states' rights.
No one branch is independent of one another. The checks and balance system created for each branch of government is to ensure one branch did not become more powerful than another branch. Each branch has powers it can use to check and balance the operations and powers of the other two branches. There are three branches in the United States government as established by the Constitution. First, the Legislative branch makes the law. It also has checks on the Executive branch such as the override of presidential vetoes with a two-thirds vote. As well as the ability to remove the president through impeachment, approve treaties and other presidential appointments. The Legislative branch can create lower courts, remove judges through impeachment and approve appointed judges for the checks over the Judicial branch. Second, the Executive branch executes the law. Therefore it as the ability to check the Executive branch by freeing the life time appointed judges from their control. Furthermore, through the power of judicial review courts can judge executive and legislative actions to be unconstitutional. Last, the Judicial branch interprets the law. For this purpose they can check the legislative branches veto power, ability to call special sessions of congress, appeal to the people concerning legislation and recommend legislation. Coupled with, the President?s ability to appoint Supreme Courts and other federal judges. The system was meant to keep the three branches in balance and has worked well over the course of America's history. American system of separation of powers checks and balances will forever be the foundation for many countries to strive to accomplish in the future.

Kelly, Martin American history (2012)

Mount, Steve. "Constitutional Topic: Martial Law." 30 Nov 2001. (3 Dec 2001)